Mid January updates!!!

17 Jan

Here I go. I feel like every time I sit down to do a post it is like how has it been 2 weeks since I last wrote!  Anyways. I have lots to talk about so I thought I would just do a “currently” post.

PHOENIX: We are in Phoenix to do the Rock N Roll Arizona tomorrow. If you have been reading for a while you know I do this race every year. After last year I decided that I would only ever do the half in the future.  The weather is gorgeous. I get to see my friends and all of their kids. I get to run in shorts and a t-shirt twice while I am here. Win Win for Phoenix in January!
IMG_3442

RUNNING: My foot had been better after my hiatus after NYC. It took a turn for the worst so I decided to see my doc who referred me to a sports med doc. Neither one thought it was a stress fracture. (whew) I have been running and I haven’t had any symptoms since the day I thought my foot took a turn for the worst. The sports doc said I needed to strengthen my glutes(surprise surprise). I have been doing some stretching and strengthening and we will see what happens. I signed up for Shamrock run. I am still planing on Victoria 70.3 but leery on signing up.

TRAINING IN GENERAL: Has been good. Just getting back in the route. For swimming I am in the middle of a “4 weeks to a 1500 PR.” I saw an article in Triathlete Mag a while ago and just following the plan!! 🙂
IMG_3436

I have been taking a spin class put on by the Portland Tri club on Saturdays. It has been fun working on my power.

CUPCAKES: I haven’t made cupcakes in years. But the twins were turning 1 and pink cupcakes were a must! I was planning on chocolate cupcakes with vanilla frosting. I ended up making these chocolate chip cupcakes with vanilla buttercream.
IMG_3360

They were delicious! I usually like the frosting more than the cake but in this case I could have eaten the cake all by itself!!

Unfortunately Paige was not feeling good at her party. But Blair had a blast!
IMG_3460
Paige on the left/Blair on the right and both bottom pictures. Paige wanted ZERO to do with her cupcake!! 😦

What have you been up to? Where do you like to travel to in the winter??

9 Responses to “Mid January updates!!!”

  1. Kecia January 17, 2015 at 4:07 PM #

    I hope you have an amazing race tomorrow and am so glad that you are back to the running 🙂 Such adorable twins!! I remember when my twin nieces were this age…my how they’ve grown.

  2. Luv What You Do January 17, 2015 at 6:13 PM #

    Too funny! I just wrote a post with the same title. Glad I’m not the only one stuck in this state : )

  3. Lee @ Tri*Inspired*Life January 19, 2015 at 9:08 AM #

    Sounds like the race went well…I look forward to reading your recap! I hope your foot is feeling fine after your race and you enjoyed your time in Arizona! I am currently in the midst of a week of rest and relaxation in the Dominican Republic!

  4. Jesica @rUnladylike January 19, 2015 at 3:24 PM #

    I hope you had a good race yesterday and that your foot is doing ok. xoxo

  5. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com January 20, 2015 at 6:49 AM #

    Positive thoughts being sent your way on the foot issue. I hate nagging injuries! As you know, I’m also a frosting gal and so I have bookmarked the recipe for those cupcakes. If a fellow frosting lover ALSO loves the cake… it’s worth trying 🙂

Your Sweet Thoughts: