Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Granola

11 Jan

I eat cereal for breakfast. There I said it. Usually only on work days. I’m not happy I do it but its fast and easily digestible for my 4 mile commute uphill to work. I try to eat healthy ones without a lot of sugar. Typically Cascadian Farm. It tastes good and local to the Pacific Northwest! Its kind of expensive so I always try to get as many samples at race expos as I can. 🙂 I usually have a coupon too. I love it! I thought maybe I could make some cereal or try too at least!

I’ve been reading Eat, Live, Run blog regularly for about a year. I have tried some of her recipes and they are all good. Last year Jenna had a post that refered back to Elvis Granola. I was intrigued and quickly found out that “Elvis Granola” was actually chocolate peanut butter granola. HELLO!! Peanut butter and chocolate may be my 2 favorite ingredients in the whole world. I LIKE them separate but LOVE them together!

Here you have it! My rendition of Elvis Granola:

IMG_0909[1]

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Granola
(adapted from Eat, Live, Run)
Makes about 1LB of granola

Ingredient List:
1/4 C canola oil
1/3 C maple syrup
scant 1/2 C chunky peanut butter
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp cinnamon
4 C rolled oats
1/4 C whole flax seeds
1/2 C honey roasted peanuts
1/4 C sunflower seeds
1 C chopped dark chocolate

Heres what you do:

Preheat oven to 275.

Bring the canola oil, maple syrup, peanut butter, salt and cinnamon to a simmer on the stove. Cook for three to five minutes.

While that’s cooking, mix together the oats, flax seeds, peanuts and sunflower seeds. Pour hot syrup mixture over the oats and toss well to coat. Spread out granola onto two lined sheet trays and bake for 40 minutes, stirring occasionally and turning trays midway through.

Let granola cool completely before adding the chocolate.

NOTES: I typically use chopped almonds because that is what I have on hand. This was the first time I had peanuts because I used them in a different recipe. Use what ever you have and whatever you like. The same thing with the chocolate. Use dark, milk, semi-sweet, chopped or in chip form. For double the peanut butter pleasure–use peanut butter chips.

Happy Baking!! What is your favorite flavor combo? Dark chocolate or milk chocolate? chunky or creamy peanut butter?

8 Responses to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Granola”

  1. Mrs. JLB January 11, 2013 at 10:57 PM #

    That granola looks delish!!! I’m def a dark and creamy girl. Best combo EVER!!!

  2. ilana January 11, 2013 at 11:24 PM #

    I was lucky enough to get to try this one after Leslie made it and let me say…it was delicious! A perfect mix of salty and sweet with a really nice crunch. I was actually on my way to spin class when we met up and it was the perfect thing to eat a few handfuls of to fuel me for the workout. It was also an excellent reward when I was done. Can’t wait to make some of my own. Thanks, Leslie!!

    • triathletetreats January 12, 2013 at 6:55 PM #

      So glad you liked it Ilana!! I’m glad I didn’t make you late to spin class!!

  3. Laura January 12, 2013 at 10:53 AM #

    Know this is the only thing I want. Nothing else will do today! And I would go dark chocolate with crunchy peanut butter.

  4. Kristy January 12, 2013 at 11:11 PM #

    Hey! Just finished making your granola! My oven cooks hot, and I over-cooked it a tad, but it is still yummy. I used almond butter in place of peanut, skipped the chocolate (not a fan of chocolate at breakfast–how wimpy is that?–) added some coconut, date pieces, and dried cranberries. I also have homemade yogurt brewing, so tomorrow should yoeld a fabulous breakfast! Thank you for the great recipe and the inspiration!
    I am running around the waterfront tomorrow morning and have been wondering how many layers to wear, so I appreciated your outfit feedback from this morning. Have a great Sunday!

    • triathletetreats January 12, 2013 at 11:33 PM #

      Awesome Kristy!! I’m glad you could take my recipe and change it to your liking!! Have an awesome run tomorrow!!

  5. Eva January 22, 2013 at 2:22 PM #

    YUM!

Your Sweet Thoughts: