Nike Women’s 1/2 Marathon Recap 2014

28 Oct

I ran my 3rd Nike Women’s 1/2 marathon last Sunday. This was going to be a fun race because it would be a training run.

I arrived Saturday afternoon and met up with Jessica at SFO. Her awesome bro came and picked us up and dropped us off at the expo!

The expotique is different from other expos. It is geared toward women. There is lots of cool stuff but I have no patience to stand in line to get my bib. Let alone stand in line for every single booth once I get into the tent. I did stand in line to get another Nuun water bottle. (I definitely don’t need another one of those but as I told Dan: it is a different design than last year.) We also stood in line at the Whole Foods booth for a cute pic and a mini cupcake.
IMG_2867[1]

The rest of the afternoon was football, pizza, and bed to early. I had a big day in the early morning!

This is how it went down:
4:00: wake up
4:20: walk to Kara’s apt
4:30: leave for 5 mile “warm-up” run with Kara (We needed to do 18 miles for our last long run for NYC training.)
5:30: pick up Audrey and Jessica
6:30: Race starts!

Again I just wanted to start slow and finish strong. This was a “training” race. I wasn’t concerned with trying to cut the tangents. I just wanted to make sure my nutrition was on. I wanted to try to speed up the last couple of miles. No real time goal. I would be happy with somewhere around 10:30 miles.
IMG_2868[1]

Miles 0-3: We started running. It was crowded and the first couple of miles seemed to be uphill. We went through not a great area of SF. Kind of boring. There is a significant hill starting about 2.5 miles. Not bad but straight up!

3-7ish: Through Golden Gate Park. Pretty flat. A couple of aid stations. Luna Bar was out giving Luna Bars and Clif Shot Bloks. Feeling good. We sped up a bit as we were not going uphill!

7ish-10ish: We ran through Richmond area and the Presidio. Rolling hills. It was still cool but foggy. There was no sign of the GG Bridge. 😦
IMG_2835[1]

A little after the 10 mile mark we knew it was the calm before the storm. A big steep hill was coming. We ran/walked up it. There was lots of spectators and cheering. It was a nice downhill on the backside.

11.5-13.1: Flat to the finish. The finish was at marina green. I had a slight weird cramp on the downhill so Kara kept going and I walked for a few seconds. I said I would catch up but didn’t really think I would be able to. I kept her in my sight and I sped up and caught her. I was excited that I had more to give. We were running like 9:15s that last stretch which felt good but hard. I felt really great. My only really complaint was: The last 1/2 mile was on the waterfront path. It was narrow and it was it was a bit difficult getting through all the runners. Especially because I was trying to speed up and there was runners and walkers everywhere. There was nowhere to run.

All SMILES!!

All SMILES!!

Even though we only ran 18 miles I felt like we really “executed” the start slow and finish fast/strong. Big negative split! I would have liked to have had a bit faster time but I had a fun time. The weather was great too!

We got through the finish chute and picked up our necklaces. They are super cute. Our last super long run was done and I felt relatively good!
IMG_2856[1]

After getting cleaned up I met up with Taylor and Jamie. We had a great brunch at Squat and Gobble.
IMG_2845[1]

I had a fun 29 hours in San Francisco! Never enough time and I didn’t even get to go to Bi-Rite!!!

22 Responses to “Nike Women’s 1/2 Marathon Recap 2014”

  1. Single-Tracked Mind October 28, 2014 at 11:53 AM #

    So happy to have met you last weekend! Let’s do it again sometime. πŸ™‚ You’re gonna kill it at NYC!

  2. Jonathan94002 October 28, 2014 at 12:23 PM #

    Great run! I ran something similar last year when I tacked on 6 miles to the SF RnR. It pulled me thru GG Park and some not very pretty areas of SF. Your run sounds like a lot more fun. πŸ™‚

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 11:01 PM #

      Fun!!! You also tacked on miles at last years NWM too?! Just different course! I love the park but you guys that live in SF are probably sick of it!! πŸ™‚

      • Jonathan94002 October 30, 2014 at 11:15 PM #

        Yep, thats right, i did! (I had forgotten!) i ran 18, i think, that day. I live about 30 minutes south of SF. I dont get to run the park that much. Its quite fun when i do. The hot chocolate run (Jan 11) goes thru the park too. Your route looks like it was a blast. And you did great getting thru all those hills. You will kill the ny marathon!

      • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 11:25 PM #

        I was happy i did well on the hills that gives me more confidence for this weekend!! πŸ™‚

  3. Kristen October 28, 2014 at 6:13 PM #

    It looks like you had a blast with your friends. Is the course super hilly? I always think of San Francisco as being really hilly. The race bling and goodie bag seems well worth the 13 miles. πŸ™‚ Nice work adding on a few miles and making it a long run day. Hope your stay in SanFran was fun!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 11:00 PM #

      Yes! Super hilly but good hilly. The hill at mile 10(which was 15 for me) was a little killer up not awful! The necklace is well worth it. I also forgot to mention that we got a tank tech t which was super cute. We have gotten finisher shirts in the past!!

  4. bayrunnerjamie October 29, 2014 at 2:59 AM #

    I did not realize you ran 5 miles before the race!! Beast mode! So great to meet you at brunch the other day, I am definitely hoping to race in Portland in the very near future! Too bad you missed out on Bi-Rite, I took my friends there a couple days before the race for some ice cream-it was amazing as always! Congrats on another race, I’m excited for you to run NY (and super jealous!)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 10:58 PM #

      I know i was super sad to miss out on Bi-Rite!! I always try and make it there!! πŸ™‚
      Come up to P-town! You won’t be disappointed!!!

  5. erin October 29, 2014 at 5:06 AM #

    What an awesome last long run before NYC

  6. erin October 29, 2014 at 5:11 AM #

    Eek! Hit submit too early! Here’s my comment πŸ™‚

    What an awesome last long run before NYC! And, how fun to run with friends! That race is on my bucket list… because that necklace! πŸ˜‰

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 10:57 PM #

      I was a little nervous to do the long run that way but it worked out well! πŸ™‚
      Yes! Definitely worth the necklace!!

  7. Change of Pace October 29, 2014 at 8:28 AM #

    Love that you said you ‘only’ ran 18 miles πŸ™‚ Congrats on another half and negative splits! Sounds like the perfect long run before NY.

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 10:55 PM #

      I liked it because it was hiller than i imagine NYC to be so it was a good mental boost even though it was “only” 18 miles!! It really didn’t seem that long!! It is different running with someone which is always fun!

  8. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com October 29, 2014 at 8:36 AM #

    I love using races as training runs! Glad it was successful. There’s nothing like running negative splits πŸ™‚ Have so much fun in NYC and good luck!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 10:54 PM #

      Thanks!! I am really going to try hard with the negative split. I have been practicing this entire training block. It is so hard!!! πŸ™‚

  9. Luv What You Do October 29, 2014 at 6:52 PM #

    Congrats! I love your running crew and all your race pics!
    What a great end race gift. I need to sign up for that one : )

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 10:53 PM #

      The necklace this year was awesome!! Rumor has it they are moving to a different city next year!! Who knows?

  10. Kristin (@SweatCourage) October 30, 2014 at 11:51 AM #

    It looks like you had so much fun in San Fran! I’ve never been, but would love to visit and race this half marathon! Oh and that necklace, so adorable. Best of luck this weekend in NYC!!!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats October 30, 2014 at 10:51 PM #

      SF is one of the best places to visit!! So many things to see and do. Great food and ice cream too!!! The running is just a bonus! πŸ™‚

Your Sweet Thoughts: