Canning Experiement 2014

1 Sep

I have always wanted to learn how to “can.” I like to make big batches of salsa and pasta sauce. I was obviously super naïve when I thought I would just be able to make a recipe, put it in a jar, and seal it up. I knew we needed to put it in a hot bath or a pressure cooker to really “seal” it up but I didn’t really know what it totally entailed!

I quickly found out we had to use a recipe for the salsa because the acidity needed to be at the right level. If the salsa doesn’t cook properly and have the right acidity the salsa could do bad. It may not be safe to eat things like that! I had no idea!!

Jamie is the pro-canner. She has dabbled in salsa but does a lot of pickles. Erica has helped Jamie a few times and made pickles. Tracy and I have zero canning experience!
IMG_2332[1]

The plan was to make a salsa recipe that Jamie found, a salsa recipe that I got from an old co-worker, and some pickles. We started at 9am Saturday morning.

We got right to work. Jamie and I were on salsa duty. Tracy and Erica were cutting pickles and peeling garlic.

Addison (Jamie's almost 3 year old.)was a big helper all day.

Addison (Jamie’s almost 3 year old.)was a big helper all day.

It takes a lot of time to prep. You make the salsa. Boil it the right amount. When it is ready you have to wash the jars (while they are warm) you sterilize them. Once they are sterile you have to work fast at putting the salsa in the jar, wipe the jar, put the lid on and get them back in the hot water bath.
IMG_2360[1]

After we took them out of the hot water bath we waited for the top to “pop.” At that point we knew they were sealed right!
IMG_2285[1]

After we had 21 jars of salsa it was time to work on the pickles.

Same sort of process: We washed the jars, sterilized them, filled the jar with garlic, dill, onions, and cucumbers and filled with brine, and into the hot water bath they went.
IMG_2361[1]

IMG_2329[1]

WE finally finished up at about 5pm. We were all still smiling!!
IMG_2341[1]

We had 41 jars of salsa and pickles.
IMG_2345[1]

Have you ever “canned”? What have you made?!

10 Responses to “Canning Experiement 2014”

  1. The Padre September 2, 2014 at 6:26 AM #

    Outstanding!!! I can every year & never donned on me to capture the adventure w/photos. For Labor Day Weekend, I whipped up a salsa w/fresh Palisade Peaches, enough to can a few quarts. Gr8 Job Ladies!!!

  2. MoM September 2, 2014 at 8:24 AM #

    I took a class on canning, but it was for sweet pickles and I can’t believe how much sugar was used… plus the time it took. But with a group of friends and dill pickles and salsa – I’d love it! Maybe I’ll get a jar of salsa and pickles for Christmas – just sayin’!

  3. Single-Tracked Mind September 2, 2014 at 12:11 PM #

    What a great experience! This must have really made you appreciate where our food comes from!

  4. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com September 4, 2014 at 5:47 AM #

    You guys made so much! Glad it was a successful “event” haha. I’ve only canned the strawberry jam my mom and I make, but she’s canned pickles, asparagus and some other random stuff. It’s definitely more work that it seems, but totally worth it in the end :)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats September 11, 2014 at 9:46 PM #

      It was fun! Definitely a lot of work! but it was good friend-time! It could be “just” a once a year thing!! :)

  5. Luv What You Do September 4, 2014 at 7:39 PM #

    What a fun thing to do with your friends! Nope…I just offer to take other’s canned goods off their hands : )

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

