Hood To Coast: 2014 edition

28 Aug

The last weekend of August has come and gone. Hood to Coast 2014 has come and gone. Just another blur to this summer. Besides the shitshow traffic back up at exchange 24 and the anti-climatic finish line. #HTC14 was another great one!!

I was in van 2 this year. Runner 10. I like van 1 better but I was a good sport when I was assigned to van 2 this year.
Pros for being in van 2 —>
Sleeping in on Friday
Not having to drive all the way to Hood.
Not being at the coast to early.
Cons—>
There is always more traffic for van 2.
It takes longer to get to Jewel(next major exchange after Mist(which is also very hard to get to)

Van 1 starting us out at 9am.
10623471_743681110247_2312448122673950035_o

Van 2 heading to Sandy.
IMG_2200[1]

We got to Sandy and waited for the rest of 8 Ducks, 3 Bearcats, & 1 Lumberjack to show up.
IMG_2202[1]

Leg 10. Hot. Very little shade. Flat. 5.12 miles. Average 9:59s.
I was actually really nervous to start. I knew there was no shade and it was already hot out. I forgot my salt tab. I always try to run the first leg conservatively.

Well executed hand-off!
IMG_2214[1]
Amato handed off to me and I was moving!
IMG_2219[1]

I felt relatively good. I just wanted to cruise along. A few people passed me at the beginning. I passed a few people who were walking and moving slow. I talked to a gal who said she had been trying to catch up to me. That was nice for a few minutes but she stopped to walk and I kept moving.

I was just moving steadily forward and enjoying every second that there was a speck of shade. I stayed hydrated with Nuun. Every mile clipped by just a few seconds faster than the last and all of a sudden I could see J-Lee waiting.

Rough first hand-off but I took a Mulligan and tried again!
IMG_2263[1]

First leg was done. I knew it would be the hardest because of the sun!

Leg 1 exchanges!!

Leg 1 exchanges!!

J-Lee and I dropped off Dan, Amato, and Kat at our place to shower/eat while we went to pick up J-Dub. Found Van 1:
IMG_2243[1]

Showered, ate, and relaxed until it was midnight when we would be off to run our 2nd legs!

Leg 22. Perfect temp. Uphill to downhill. 6.81 miles. 9:40s.

My second leg is almost always my favorite leg. It is cool. I try to pick a runner (position) that the 2nd leg is the longest because it is my favorite. I like running in the dark too.

I got up the 1.6 mile steep climb that was hard but do-able. Started cruising down which was way more enjoyable. Passed a ton of people. There were a few baby rollers on this downhill stretch. This leg was fun!! So fun!! I saw a few sub 9s and thought I better slow my ass down but I went for it!! Finished strong and it was hard to believe it was 4 in the morning!

Exchange 24 happened. It happens every.single.year! Back up. Traffic back up that you can not even believe! There is no cell service out there so there is no talking to the other van! Period! Until you see there shining faces. This year was a little different. The back up started miles before the exchange and we weren’t even moving at a crawl. We were literally at a dead stop for 10-15-20 minutes at a time.

This is where I fell asleep for over an hour. I didn’t wake up the multiple times J-Lee opened the door and got in and out. I finally woke up at 7:30 as J-Lee and J-Dub were getting back in the van. I couldn’t believe it was so late. Hettie was right on time handing off from J-Dub but she was stuck standing there for an hour waiting for us to pull up. There was a massive amount of runners waiting for their van 1s to get there. It was a total shitshow and an even bigger one than usual!

We headed to Jewel for showers and food. Took us a long time to get there and than back on the road to the last major exchange. We took another hour or so nap and back on the road!!

Leg 34. Hot. No shade. Rolling hills. 3.4 miles. 10:02s.

This is my perfect leg of rolling hills except that it was hot. I didn’t want to carry any water with me but I did. I was happy to have it and continually poured water over my head. It made a huge difference. Again I passed lots of people on the death march.

I just wanted another steady run. I would have liked it to have been faster but it was good.

I am happy to report that a girl who looked much more like a runner then me passed me about 1/2 mile after the exchange. I didn’t let her out of my eye sight. She would walk up the hills and I would get that much closer. I finally passed her with a mile or so to go and never looked back! :)

We finally made it to Seaside!

Waiting for van 1 to show up and J-Dub to cross the finish line!

Waiting for van 1 to show up and J-Dub to cross the finish line!

The finish line was again an even bigger shitshow than normal. We don’t know if it was from all the back up from exchange 24 that caused more teams to finish in our time frame or if it was just not organized! We finally “finished” and got our medals!!
HYC

Until next year. Hood To Coast 2014 in the books.

I like the colors this year.  This medal is the best of the 4 I have!

I like the colors this year. This medal is the best of the 4 I have!

Last chance at the Pints to Pasta 10K giveaway!

16 Responses to “Hood To Coast: 2014 edition”

  1. Kecia August 29, 2014 at 7:35 AM #

    I LOVE the pics!! It looks like you had a blast :)

  2. FitnessFatale August 29, 2014 at 9:12 AM #

    How fun! I love the finisher shirt- it’s really cute!
    I have yet to do a traditional relay race (did the Ragnar trail) but every time I read a race report about one it makes me want to do it!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats August 31, 2014 at 7:27 PM #

      Relays are so fun!! I want to do a Ragnar trail! They are definitely different! You should do Ranger So-Cal!?!!

  3. Kimberly @ Healthy Strides August 29, 2014 at 12:28 PM #

    First, that shirt is sweet. I liked last year’s but this might be better. But anyway, I loved reading this. Makes me nostalgic. And excited to do the Bourbon Chase.

  4. Single-Tracked Mind August 29, 2014 at 12:42 PM #

    This looks like such a blast! And awesome race swag!

  5. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com August 30, 2014 at 7:27 AM #

    Seems like you had fun, but that this wasn’t your fave relay… I’m super bummed I wasn’t able to do it, but I love reading everyone’s recaps. How do you think it compared to Key West?

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats August 31, 2014 at 7:22 PM #

      It was fun! It always is! I think that the smaller ones are better because you aren’t sitting in traffic, waiting for portie potties, or no waiting to go over the finish line.
      HTC was way cooler temp wise then KW!! :)

  6. bayrunnerjamie August 30, 2014 at 3:19 PM #

    I always think of running as such an individual sport, but it sounds so fun to be a part of a team event! Great job and congrats!! :)

  7. Kristen @ Glitter and Dust August 30, 2014 at 5:18 PM #

    It looks like you had such an awesome group of runners. I have yet to participate in the Hood to Coast relay, as it fills super fast each year, but hopefully someday I will get recruited by a team that needs a runner. :) I heard about the big traffic jams that some of the vans had to endure. Hope it wasn’t too bad for you!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats August 31, 2014 at 7:02 PM #

      Yes!! You have to do HTC sometime. It is so fun. Very different than any other relay because it is so crowded!! But definitely good to do at least once!!

  8. Luv What You Do September 4, 2014 at 7:38 PM #

    ok i am definitely adding a relay race to my 2015 bucket list. They look like so much fun (minus the lack of sleep…ha ha!)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats September 11, 2014 at 9:43 PM #

      Even the lack of sleep isn’t too bad!!! You are running on adrenaline by the last leg!! :)

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

