Ironman Recovery + What Is Next

19 Aug

Wow! It has been a long time since I have posted! I would have to blame Orange Is The New Black. I have been dying to watch it for a long time. Thank goodness we didn’t start to watch it until after Ironman. We stayed up too late too many times in the last 3 weeks. We finished both seasons and it was soooooooooooooooooooo gooooooooooooooooooooooood!! I am already counting down the days until season 3 comes out!

Other fun stuff since the race:
Dan, my mom, and aunt hung out in Whistler on Monday after the race. We rode the gondola up to Whistler summit to catch the Peak To Peak gondola.
P1000140

P1000141

When we got to the Whistler summit we actually had not gotten to the top yet. We took a little hike down to a lift that took us all the way to the top!
P1000149

P1000178

P1000180

We rode the Peak to Peak gondola.
P1000158

We had the entire cabin to ourselves!

We had the entire cabin to ourselves!

We made our way over to the summit of Blackcomb Mountain.
P1000175

P1000160

We joked about seeing bears all day. “Where’s the bears?” It was mainly me saying it but it became quite the joke. I am pretty sure this is what I looked like when I saw that bear back in June!! :)
P1000172

Dan and I headed to San Juan Island for vacation the next day. We had so much fun!! A couple highlights:

Found the “locals” hang out: Eagle Cove!
P1000201

P1000205

We went on a whale watching tour.
P1000240

These are from the boat photographer. They were better than mine. :) I would totally recommend San Juan Excursions. They took a ton of pictures for us. Gave them to us for free too! Hello!
whales

whales2

We kayaked!
P1000245
Dialog with our tour guide right off the bat:
Me: Do you think we will see whales?
Chris: Probably not. They are up north right now.
Me: That is ok because we saw some yesterday!

(hour later)
Chris (points up north): See all the boats. That is where all the whales are. (As we head south.)
Me: OOOOhhhhh man!

(another hour or 2 later)
Chris: I am pretty sure we are going to see some whales soon. Look behind you!
Everyone: (whips their heads around) Holy SHIT!!!!

All the boats are right behind us.
Chris: lets pull into this cove and watch them go by!

It was so amazing and fun! This guy was about 30 yards from us:
P1000276
This was the BEST picture I got. Not great but ok. We had so much fun. It was a 5 hour tour. I thought it was a little long and Dan thought we should do the 3 hour tour. I thought we would get more bang for our buck going with the 5 hour tour. WE sure did!!
We also saw a bunch of wildlife:
Moon Jelly
P1000247
Harbor Seal–We saw lots of these guys!
P1000251

We had a super awesome time up north and then we had to come home. Back to reality. But we are no longer on a structured schedule. :)

UNTIL….

What is next up for me:
My 4th Hood To Coast —> This weekend!

New York City Marathon —> November 2nd!! I am really excited about this. I have been waiting a really long time to do this.

Are you watching Orange is The New Black?

What do you like to do after recovering from a big race?

17 Responses to “Ironman Recovery + What Is Next”

  1. Kecia August 20, 2014 at 5:05 AM #

    Looks like you’ve found some great ways to occupy your free time :)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats August 21, 2014 at 9:23 AM #

      Definitely!! I thought I would have so much time after Ironman was over and I have zero. Not sure how that happened!! :)

  2. Kimberly @ Healthy Strides August 20, 2014 at 7:41 AM #

    Love your vacation photos! Have a great time at HTC.

  3. Single-Tracked Mind August 20, 2014 at 12:34 PM #

    Awesome photos!! We loved OITNB and binge watched the second season in a very short period of time. Can’t wait to hear about Hood to Coast! And jealous of your doing the NYC Marathon! Jesse (NY native) ran it a few years ago and loved it.

    Glad you are recovering well.

  4. Kristen August 20, 2014 at 3:09 PM #

    Um, I am completely obsessed with OITNB and can’t wait for the next season. Bravo to Netflix for stepping up their game! It looks like you had a wonderful post-Ironman vacation in Whistler. I can’t wait to go there next year. Good luck running the H2C this weekend – should be perfect weather. And YAY for marathon training. I’m on that same plan for Portland. ☺ Usually during post-race recovery, I try to get things done that get neglected during training…. Like cleaning house and taking my car in for an oil change. Haha.

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats August 21, 2014 at 9:14 AM #

      I can’t believe it has taken me this long to get hooked on OITNB!! :)
      Yes we did a deep clean when we got back. something I hate to do but it had to be done!!!

  5. Lauren August 21, 2014 at 10:47 AM #

    SO insanely jealous you saw orcas on a boat and a kayak!! Also insanely jealous you are rocking Hood to Coast again, say HI to all the Nuunies for me when you see them out there :).

  6. Lee@tri*inspired*life August 21, 2014 at 11:18 AM #

    Yes, I do love OITNB too! We made it through the second season pretty quickly after it came out (yes, during IM training!). Post-IM has been great. I took a couple of short vacations and really have enjoyed my time post-“life on a training plan”. After almost two weeks of recovery (other than a couple of SUP sessions at the beach), I had gradually gotten active again. It is nice to be able to choose an activity and not be tied to a certain distance or block of time. I have no other races this season, and while I have thought about it, I will probably keep it that way!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats August 21, 2014 at 12:04 PM #

      Loved your re-caps!! Glad that you are recovering well. It is hard after a race like an Ironman not to do another race. You have all this endurance and you want to take advantage of it but it really isn’t worth it!! :)

  7. Change of Pace August 21, 2014 at 11:41 AM #

    I’ve always wanted to go to San Juan, and now your photos make me want to go even more! That’s awesome they gave the photos for free, and your kayak tour looks/sounds AMAZING!!! It looks like you had awesome weather, too :)
    Woohoo- good luck with Hood to Coast!!
    I always think I’m going to have all this spare time after a race, but somehow it all gets eaten up and I don’t do nearly the things I had planned!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats August 21, 2014 at 12:03 PM #

      Yes!! You should go. I want to go back and maybe see some oft the other islands. So much to do!!
      I have all these things that I want to do and somehow nothing is getting done. Maybe after Hood To Coast!! :)

  8. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com August 23, 2014 at 3:39 PM #

    I love gondola rides AND whale watching! How lucky were you to get so close while kayaking?! That’s awesome. Hope your having fun (or celebrating, by now) HTC!!! So jealous :)

  9. Luv What You Do September 4, 2014 at 7:35 PM #

    Have I even congratulated you on an incredible race yet?! I am soo behind in life, including blogs! This looks like an amazing way to spend the day. Congrats and way to go!!!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats September 11, 2014 at 9:45 PM #

      Thanks Jen!!! Believe me I thought I would have all this time post-IM and it is Sept and I have done almost nothing!! :) You are getting married and busy with life anyway!! :)

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

