Run Route Experiment

11 Apr

4 Tuesday’s ago I had a base run of rolling hills to do. 5(ish) miles. I went on a route that was a little different from what I would normally run. I was 6 weeks out from Big Sur so I needed to step up my “running hills.” I picked this route with 3 “climbs” and rollers in between.

corb-elv

First I have to say Tuesdays I don’t have to be to work until 11:30. Dan and I hit the pool right about 6am. I have a short or long break then go for my run. I always have a hard time deciding on what to eat before my swim, after my swim, before my run…etc. For the last 4 weeks I have done a variety of food/break options to see what I thought would work best!!

This was not a planned experiment. I thought I would do a post after the 2nd week then thought well I will just wait until next week. After the 3rd week I thought why not just one more week. Here is the “accidental” 4 week experiment.

Week 1:
Before swim: Gu; Nuun energy
Swim: 2900 yards
After swim: Picky Bar
Break time: about 90 minutes
run: Average 10:23min/mile Core first; NO music

Week 2:
Before swim: Picky Bar; Nuun energy
Swim: 3000 yards
After swim: Gu
Break time: about 30 minutes
run: Average 10:21min/mile no core; music

Week 3:
Before swim: Gu and glass of OJ; Nuun energy
Swim: 3300 yards–really hard
After swim: rice cake with almond butter
Break time: about 45 minutes
run: Average 10:26min/mile Core first; NO music; did not look at my watch once

Week 4:
Before swim: Picky Bar; Nuun energy
Swim: 3000 yards–pretty hard
After swim: Gu
Break time: about 45 minutes
run: Average 10:13min/mile Core first; NO music

I am torn on the break time because if I come home and have a quick snack then I can run and be done. After I can relax (or nap) and have breakfast before heading to work. I like doing them back to back just to get them done with. But I also feel like if I have a longer break (or nap) and then run that might help my run more.

I also can not really have breakfast after the swim even if I wait 90 minutes but I need to have something more than just a Gu. See my dilemma?!

Week 2 & 4: were the best and they had the same foods before and after. I think the Picky Bar and Gu will be my go to and just do the work outs back to back. I had planned on using my music in week 4 but I could not find my iPod!

This is what I think is interesting: The breakdown of miles:

corb

Definitely not consistent. But I do think that the miles were beeping at different times through the course of the 4 weeks. I think they would be more similar if each mile beeped at exactly the same point. That is GPS for ya!!

I wore my Hokas all 4 weeks. I might (just for shits and giggles) do this run one more time on Tuesday (depending on what is on my schedule to do) in my Brooks and see how that compares!! :)

Do you do doubles back to back?
What is on tap for you this weekend?? The weather is looking good for our bike ride outside and my last 20-miler for Big Sur!!

10 Responses to “Run Route Experiment”

  1. Jonathan94002 April 11, 2014 at 4:47 PM #

    Did my last long run last week at SF RnR – 6 miles + the Half around the hills of SF. Tapering now and looking forward to Big Sur. See you there!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats April 12, 2014 at 12:28 PM #

      Awesome!! You are totally ready!! I heard that the course was different this year and way better!! :)
      Yes!! See you there!!!

  2. Kecia April 11, 2014 at 6:15 PM #

    I have a brick tomorrow: 20 min run, 3 hour ride, 30 min run.
    Sunday is 1:40:00 tempo run.

    Enjoy your last long run before the taper ;)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats April 12, 2014 at 12:27 PM #

      Oh Awesome!! I hope you have/had a great work out!! I have never done a brick with a run in front of it!! Very interesting!!

      • Kecia April 12, 2014 at 3:38 PM #

        It was a good one!! I’m working on some “good” tan lines as a result 😉

  3. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com April 13, 2014 at 6:02 AM #

    I only did a few brick workouts, but I had a bowl of oatmeal before the swim, apple and nuun before the bike and nothing before the run. I think the more substantial “meal” before the swim would allow you to run after with just a GU and still feel OK.
    I’d be interested to see your comparison of the Hoka vs Brooks :)

  4. erin April 13, 2014 at 7:05 AM #

    I usually have something a bit more substantial before my brick (almond butter + jelly toast and a banana perhaps) and then some Honey Stinger chews during my second workout, depending on the duration. If it’s a long bike, I’ll have more; if it’s a bike-run, then I’ll eat more during the bike so I have energy for the rest. I think the key is to find what works for YOU! Everyone’s body and calorie requirements are different :)

    My weekend: swim bike run yesterday and swim bike run today! I live for the weekends!

  5. Abby April 13, 2014 at 1:37 PM #

    Hope your 20 miler went well this weekend!
    Hmm- that is a tough amount of time in between to really eat anything. What if you try eating more before the swim? Like toast even?
    I got really good at eating before running last summer!
    I must say I’m glad I don’t have any doubles this year :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On Your LEFT! | Triathlete Treats - April 15, 2014

    […] is normal. I ended up having a pretty good run. I averaged 10:14s so not much different than the last week of the experiment!! I was secretly hoping that it was going to be a huge difference. Now I need to go back to […]

  2. Ironman Canada Training Week #19 + Whistler Review! | Triathlete Treats - June 15, 2014

    […] mile run. Same route as my run experiment. I haven’t done this route since pre-Big Sur. The run started out a little rough but felt […]

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

