Ironman Canada Training Week 10

8 Apr

Another great week. Just another re-cap post!!

Sunday: Bonus swim: 3600 yard. Long warm up with some drills. 4 x 500. 2 time trials and some buoy/paddle work. I was pleased with my TT times (and they were about the same)! 5×100 Fast on 2:00. Cool down.

Monday: 1 hour spin class + 10 minute of core

7 mile bike commute

Tuesday: 3300 yard swim. This was killer. Today was all about the 100s. 100s on 2:00; more 100s on 1:50; and to make it worse 100s on 1:45. With 10x 25s in between those sets; builds, hypoxic, and FAST ones!! Tough day to be in the pool!

Run: 5.22 mile: rolling hills + Dozen core routine. Felt decent! This run was part of an experiment I have been working on. I will disclose those results (probably) tomorrow.

7 mile bike commute

Wednesday: Strength; 2 sets with multiple rounds of walking lunges; squats or deadlifts; abs; push-ups!
40 minute trainer ride: warm up with some builds/climbs; 8 minute tempo; 8 minutes max (on and off); 8 minute threshold

2900 yard swim: We did our “sprint” last week of the month work out even though it was the first week of the month. warm up; lots of 50s building and descending; we did 3 sets of 100 easy with 4×25 (broken 100) with :10R. Interesting to compare those (1:22, 1:24, 1:21) to the 100 time trial (1:31). Some of us were faster in the broken 100s which I would expect. I feel like I was working much harder on those than I did on the time trial. But one girl was faster on the TT. (She is super fast too!!)

Thursday: 4 miler with Dan that was early enough that we had to wear our reflective stuff. I was not super excited to get up early but it was fun to run with him! + 30 minute core work out from coach. Lots of planks and hip movements!

10 mile bike commute

Friday: Rest day! BEST day!

5 mile bike commute

Saturday: 18.3 mile run flat with some big hills after mile 12. I started losing it mentally at 13-16ish. I was tired. It was raining. I was soaked. Did I not have enough breakfast? Did I need another GU? I was not sure! I did this without music. I really wanted it to go well and it was not great!! Bird Legs will be in town this weekend. Perfect timing because we can do our last 20 miler before Big Sur together!!

I will leave you with this!!
chuck

9 Responses to “Ironman Canada Training Week 10”

  1. Kecia April 9, 2014 at 2:31 AM #

    Nice solid week of training!!

  2. Change of Pace April 9, 2014 at 6:26 AM #

    Your training weeks are amazing me! And I keep forgetting you have Big Sur until I see those loooong runs sneaking in there!
    Also, your bikes are motivating me to play around with different speeds on the trainer- thanks!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats April 10, 2014 at 6:01 PM #

      Thanks!! :)
      Yes definitely play around with speed, cadence, watts. I find that easier to sit on the trainer when I am constantly changing things. I would never be able to sit in front of the TV and do say an endurance ride. Can’t do it!! :)

  3. Kimberly @ Healthy Strides April 9, 2014 at 7:46 AM #

    Solid week there, birthday girl! (Note: It can be your birthday all week! Cupcakes every day!) Way to stick it out on the long run and get it done.

  4. Kristen L April 9, 2014 at 10:26 PM #

    Wow! Those swim workouts sound so intense!! I’m impressed. It will be nice to run with Kara this weekend. :) good luck on the long run!

  5. erin April 12, 2014 at 6:52 AM #

    Awesome week, Leslie! Our swim workouts are similar… actually have 5×500 today! Hypoxic ones would crush me! Also, I looked at tickets this week to come spectate and volunteer at Canada! I want to race it again this year, but coach put the kabosh on it. I figured spectating is the second best thing :)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats April 12, 2014 at 12:25 PM #

      Nice! I wish we did the hypoxic drills more often than I think they would be better!! Yes!! You should totally come spectate/volunteer that would be so much fun!!! I think that it is probably a good idea you don’t do Canada either so you can totally crush and potentially qualify for Kona in WI!!!!

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

