How to SWIM a 1000 Time Trial

11 Mar

Let me start by saying I am no expert in swimming. Really no expert at anything but I am loving swimming lately. It might be the nice pool I swim in or the great masters swim I go to…who knows!

pool

I will tell you what I do not like: Time Trials(TT). Agh! I feel like they are on the schedule all.the.time.

I do a 100 TT the last Wednesday of the month with my masters group. Plus my coach has 500, 1000, 1500, and 2000 TTs randomly in the work outs. My first 1000 was a couple of weeks ago and was not sure how to tackle it. When I saw the 1000 and 500 TT on todays work out: I thought: SH*T!!!

Todays work out:
Warm-up: 200
100-200-300 Endurance effort (:20R)
1000 TT
300-200-100 Endurance effort (:20R)
500 TT
Cool-down: 100

Here are my tips on how to get through the 1000:
1: DO NOT go out too fast. Now do not sandbag the first couple 100s, you still need to work hard/strong but you want to be able to pick it up toward the end.
2: Count every single length. Every time you hit the wall: count. I have the hardest time counting especially past 20 lengths. So I break it into 2×20. As soon as I hit 20 I start at 0 again.
3: Stay in the moment. Stay in the set. Stay in the TT. It is VERY EASY to lose track of what you are doing!
4: Negative split the 500s. I have yet to wear a watch to be able to lap at the 500 but if you are not doing flip turns you can check the clock.
5: By 700 you should be breathing hard and if you have held back at all this is the time to let it rip. Try building the last 3 100s!
6: You will probably be super tired by 900 but you only have 100 to go. Pick.it.up!! Push the gas and finish this TT up.
7: You should not have nothing left by the time you finish and be breathless!!

SMILE: I bet you just finished faster than your last one! :)

Now the tricky part for me was having to do a 500 as well. I thought I was going fast and I was but it was hard!

For a stand alone 500 TT:

1: Don’t start too fast!
2: Be breathless pretty quick!
3: Don’t hold back!

What is your favorite distance to swim? Fast or slow?

13 Responses to “How to SWIM a 1000 Time Trial”

  1. MoM March 11, 2014 at 11:53 PM #

    Who are you? You are talking Greek? But I love you anyway! You GO girl!

  2. Change of Pace March 12, 2014 at 5:32 AM #

    Oh- that sounds tough! I’ll be excited to see your swim times this year- it sounds like you are rocking it already!
    I love swimming slow and steady. (I lied, I actually don’t love swimming). If I have to actually swim instead of play in the water, it’s slow and steady for me!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 16, 2014 at 3:34 PM #

      I feel like my swimming is going really good. It will be interesting to see what happens. I also wish IMC was a wave start. Dang it!

      • Change of Pace March 18, 2014 at 4:39 PM #

        You’ll do great! And remember, you can start way off to the side without it impacting the distance!

  3. Kimberly @ Healthy Strides March 12, 2014 at 8:55 AM #

    Will you come to Indiana and give me lessons? This all sounds way above my head. You are too awesome.

  4. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com March 12, 2014 at 11:19 AM #

    I agree with Kimberly… will you be my swim coach when I’m allowed to exercise again?! So much great advice and experience. You rock lady!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 16, 2014 at 3:31 PM #

      Maybe I should take some classes on how to coach!! :) You will be able to exercise again….soon..hopefully!!

  5. Kristen @ Glitter and Dust March 12, 2014 at 8:12 PM #

    Swimming is definitely my weakest leg of triathlon and I have been working so hard to improve my technique and time. I wish I had your talent – it would make tri life so much easier. :) My favorite distance is 1500m at a moderate/fast pace (which is probably your slow pace).

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 16, 2014 at 3:30 PM #

      You keep working at it! It is all about PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE!! I wish I could run as fast as you!! :)

  6. Kristen L March 12, 2014 at 8:37 PM #

    I think I have been slowly improving my swimming lately, but I really don’t know what my times are like. And I’m really never sure if I’m pacing myself right. So thanks for the tips on how it should feel! Keep teaching me your speedy swim ways. :)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 16, 2014 at 3:29 PM #

      Yeah!!! Keep working at it!! It is a work in progress trying to figure out pacing in the water!! :)

  7. erin March 17, 2014 at 5:17 AM #

    I oddly love the longer distance swims! Coach had me do 2 x 1200 a few weeks ago, and it was a blast to just settle into a groove. Totally agree on staying in the moment. If I think too much about swimming and the next few laps, I start to get panicky. Happy swimming! :)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 17, 2014 at 9:45 PM #

      I think for Ironman training the longer/harder intervals are what will help us excel in the swim!! :)

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

