Seattle Hot Chocolate 15K 2014

6 Mar

Saturday, Dan and I headed to Seattle for the Hot Chocolate 15K. You might remember I headed up there with Erica and Laura last year. Here is last years recap. We had such a great time last year I talked Dan into doing it this year.

We hit up the expo first thing.

Hot Chocolate samples and chocolate dipped marshmallows:

IMG_3856[1]

IMG_3858[1]

Here is the goodie bag:
IMG_3867[1]
Cute hoodie and a travel mug (that came in super handy for a pre-race-being-under-the-weather-but-feeling-pretty-good cup of tea)

Pre-race: It was freezing!!  I had no goals.  I knew the course.  I just wanted to have a strong run.  See what I could do on the mountains hills of Seattle!!

IMG_3859[1]

IMG_3860[1]

We started in the second corral: O! Dan left pretty quick after we started. I put on some tunes.

Really not too eventful of a race. I felt like I ran strong. I felt good. I saw Dan a couple of times on the out and backs. I never really thought: I should not be doing this or I really want it to be over or I wish it was over. Like I said last year: I love the 15K. It is the perfect distance!

The last 1/2 mile(ish) was a little different this year. I think because of the construction! We rounded the opposite corner of last year and had to run a down and up + the uphill finish from last year. That was no fun but my averages were pretty consistent!!

It will be interesting to see what happens at Shamrock this year!! :)

Dan saw me finish and then we headed over to get our finishers mugs. It was cold and getting colder as I “cooled” down. We drank our hot chocolate and took our goodies back to the car. It started to rain and I was happy it was over.
IMG_3864[1]

I am hoping that Portland will get a Hot Chocolate race next year but if not I will be back in Seattle the first week of March for my favorite distance race!!!

Have you ever done a Hot Chocolate race?

16 Responses to “Seattle Hot Chocolate 15K 2014”

  1. Healthy Strides March 7, 2014 at 3:15 AM #

    SWEET! Sounds like a great time. I’ve always wanted to do a Hot Chocolate race but all of them are 2+ hours away. Womp, womp.

  2. Laurie Weinsoft March 7, 2014 at 5:44 AM #

    Leslie I am so pleased you are both having so much fun.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. MoM March 7, 2014 at 7:24 AM #

    I can’t figure out who has the happiest smile, you two are cute :) Oh, and good job on the race… You go girl!

  4. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com March 8, 2014 at 8:19 AM #

    What a fun race! I love the 15k too. I wish there were more races in my area at that distance. It was cold here this morning too, 50 degrees ;) I love love love that finishers mug! Too cool for school! Glad yall had fun!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 11, 2014 at 3:27 PM #

      I don’t know why there is not more 15Ks everywhere!! I love them!!!! I love when you say it was “cold” here. 50 degrees is like a heat wave here! :)

  5. Luv What You Do March 8, 2014 at 4:38 PM #

    I did the Hot Chocolate a few years back and it was really fun! Bet post race treats ever…chocolate with cake : ) Yum!

  6. erin March 9, 2014 at 7:10 AM #

    Any race with chocolate at the end is my kinda race ;) Looks like you had a blast!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 11, 2014 at 3:23 PM #

      Right!! The more the chocolate the better! I forgot to add that they handed out chocolate at the mile 7 aid station! Hello!!

  7. Kristen @ Glitter and Dust March 9, 2014 at 1:04 PM #

    How have I never heard of this race? Although Seattle is quite a distance from Bend, my husband’s family lives there and it would be a great way to kill two birds with one stone next year. I love the huge hot chocolate finishing cup and I LOVE chocolate, so this would be my kind of race!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 11, 2014 at 3:22 PM #

      It is only 2 years old. I had only heard of it because some other bloggers did some of the California races!! I am hoping they will have a Portland one next year!! If you love chocolate than this is definitely a fun race!! :)

  8. Change of Pace March 9, 2014 at 7:47 PM #

    You guys are awesome- congrats on another race!
    I would do the race for the expo goodies alone! The rest is just a bonus!

  9. Kristen L March 9, 2014 at 9:12 PM #

    So fun for you and Dan to do together! We thought about doing the HC San Francisco race this year, but it just didn’t happen. I guess we might have to come up to Seattle and run next year with you. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shamrock PDX 2014 | Triathlete Treats - March 18, 2014

    […] have not done enough hills and hill repeats like I have in the past. I wanted to beat my time from Hot Chocolate 2 weeks ago. 2 reasons: 1- I was “sick” under the weather…whatever you want to […]

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

