Ironman Canada Training week #5

4 Mar

So I have been under the weather for a week. Now when I say under the weather I really mean just under the weather. I do not even feel like it was a cold. It was a half sore throat. My right tonsil was sore. My left tonsil totally fine. One of my lymph nodes under my right ear was swollen. It was WEIRD! I would get tired in the evening. I would go to bed early and feel ok in the morning. I drank lots of tea with honey and juice. I worked out cause I felt pretty good except for my throat. Still not sure. I was going to go to the doctor yesterday but could not get in. But then I finally started feeling “more like myself.”

I am finally getting a post up. I had a couple of posts that I wanted to write last week and didn’t cause “I just wanted to lay on the couch”!! This is just a boring training week but I have a couple of others that I am going to do this week that are better!! I promise! :)

Sunday:
1 hour Pi-Yo class. I was happy I went because my hamstrings and feet needed to be stretched out from the brick we did the day before. It felt really good!
Bonus swim: (not sure if these are still bonus or not): 3100 yard swim.
Warm up, some 25 builds…and then
5 x 500: Kind of scary but this is what it is going to take for a strong “long” swim! 1st: tempo, 2nd: fast strong pull, 3rd: threshold, 4th: fast strong pull, and 5th: threshold. Felt pretty good! Happy with my times
Cool down

Monday:
Spin class: Today we worked all speed work! Hard! Not sure if the speed work was harder than last weeks all hills. Definitely a toss up!
+ 15 minutes of core

7 miles bike commute

Tuesday:
morning
This was me this particular morning! Dan got up to swim and I just could not! I would just do the swim on Thursday!! I was pissed that I didn’t cause Thursday the whole under the weather thing started!!

4.18 mile run with some tempo worked in there! It was super windy. Not fun! + The Dozen core routine

7 mile bike commute

Wednesday:
30 minute strength work out! Lots of pushups and upper body. He gave us a rest from squats and lunges today! :)
1 hour Trainer spin: LOTS of quick fast stuff!

2900 yard masters swim: last Wednesday of the month: speed!!
Warm up + 8 FAST 100s to get the blood flowing and pumping. 15 x 50 (2 easy/3 fast) HARD BUT GOOD! Some drills and then the 100 TT. I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to get last weeks time but I beat it by 3 seconds! Yeah! That was with 2 of 3 wonky flip turns! Next month should be even better!!

Thursday:
30 minute Coach’s core routine!

2800 yard swim(from Tuesday)
Warm up; Sets of 200/100/50 builds; threshold 100s; Sets of 75/50/25 builds; more threshold 100s; Cool down

RUN(which I debated on doing cause I was not feeling well): 5.25 miles hills. It was slow but I got through it. I probably should have rested but I didn’t want to do that either!!

Friday: Fun day Rest day

Saturday: Brick–
1 hour trainer ride. warm up; drills; 2×15 minute (5:00/4:00/3:00/2:00/1:00) builds through out the set. First one was speed; Second was climbing. Hard!!
I did a transition run with Andrea: 2.5 mile run at a good clip.

How was your week?!

9 Responses to “Ironman Canada Training week #5”

  1. Joann March 4, 2014 at 10:57 AM #

    That is a LOT of stuff for an under the weather week!!! Looks like you are totally on your way to kick ass Ironman training mode!!! We should plan something soon!! Maybe out for a ride one of these weekends!!! I’ll be down to joining you guys in PDX or if you need to break the rides with something new I can show you some oly routes! :)

  2. Kimberly @ Healthy Strides March 4, 2014 at 11:46 AM #

    Nice work there, lady! Those almost colds are stupid. I’m glad you are feeling better.

  3. Change of Pace March 4, 2014 at 11:53 AM #

    I agree with Joann’s comment- that’s a smoking week for being under the weather!
    Glad you’re starting to feel more like yourself.
    My last week was great- last week of vacation so how could it not be?! This week is going alright considering I’m back to work and sub-arctic temps :)

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 4, 2014 at 8:52 PM #

      Yay! You are back!! Can’t wait to hear about your vacation!! (But sorry you are back to work and the cold) :)

  4. Kristen L March 4, 2014 at 8:42 PM #

    BOO. Sorry to hear you were under the weather last week. But I’m glad you are feeling a bit better now. Last week was so busy for me!

  5. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com March 7, 2014 at 10:01 AM #

    You. Are. A. Machine. Enough said.

  6. Luv What You Do March 8, 2014 at 4:37 PM #

    The Tuesday kitten is so cute!
    Mornings this week were soo tough! I have been exahusted and I”m doing nearly as much as you are! You are impressive!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats March 11, 2014 at 3:25 PM #

      I should have known you would like the kitten pic!! I used to be able to get away with little sleep but not anymore! Its tougher as I get older!! :(

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

