Ironman Canada Training Weeks 1-3

18 Feb

This is long overdue. I want to try to get better at putting up a weekly re-cap or at least a bi-monthly re-cap.
iron

IMC Training Week 1
Swim: 7250 yards
Bike: 94 miles
Run: 7.4 miles
Core: 2
Strength: 1

3 solid swim days. I would have more miles on the bike but I had 2 flats that week. (I finally got a new tire!) I was still recovering from the marathon and not wanting to run a lot of miles. That 7.4 miles was tacked onto the end of a bike ride at our usual brick work out on Saturday. Welcome back to running with A LOT of elevation gain through the trails.

IMC Training Week 2
Swim: 4500 yards
Bike: 48 miles
Run: 23.2 miles
Core: 1
Strength: 1

This was Ragnar Keys week. Usual work outs at the beginning of the week before leaving for Florida.

IMC Training Week 3
Swim: 7450 yards
Bike: 45 miles
Run: 19
Core: 3
Strength: 1

Back to work. Base building until April!

A couple great swims with a 1000 time trial in one session. I had never done a 1000TT before. I was not sure how to pace it or how it would go. I put a time on it but had no idea if I could hit that number or not. I did with time to spare. I was super excited. I tried not to go out too fast so I could pick it up a little at the end. I probably could have done it a little faster but I was more than happy with my time!! :)

Solid trainer rides. I have been having a problem with my power meter so I still have little data on that front but should be all fixed tomorrow. (crossing my fingers). It is so different riding the trainer with friends than on my own. So.Much.Better!!

No commuting miles with lots of snow and slush on the ground! :(
bikecomm

Tuesday/Thursday runs were great. My 9 miler (part of the brick) was tough. It was pouring rain. I had low energy. On the trails again. I was happy to have survived! What does not kill us only makes us stronger. (I just keep telling myself that!)

I did 2 pi-yo classes and the core session from my coach (which included 9.5 minutes of planks–broken up). What I don’t count on the core sessions: is a core routine from my old Friday morning class and The Dozen routine. I usually do those 1-2x a week depending on how much time I have! :)

How has your training been lately??
Has anyone tried “The Dozen” routine?

8 Responses to “Ironman Canada Training Weeks 1-3”

  1. Kimberly @ Healthy Strides February 18, 2014 at 12:57 PM #

    Way to get it girl! That 9-miler sounds brutal. Chilly rain = no good for me.

    Thanks for sharing the dozen. I’ve seen it before but could definitely stand to do it regularly!

  2. erin February 20, 2014 at 5:31 AM #

    Great few weeks of training… you’re well on your way to Whistler! Other than some swim-bike bricks, I haven’t done a single one yet! But, LOTS of swimming and biking :) Thanks for the dozen reminder… I need to do that one regularly!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats February 24, 2014 at 1:53 PM #

      You still have a TON of time until Wisconsin you don’t really need to start bricks for a little while yet!! :)

  3. Kristen February 22, 2014 at 11:22 AM #

    I’ve been feeling good, and my running is coming back now that I’ve got my leg muscle under control from whatever what driving it crazy for a month or so. I have been kind of bad at doing core since the end of January, so thanks for the reminder to get back on it. I like the dozen workout — really hits a bit of everything. I’m excited to follow along on your IMC training!

    • Leslie @ TriathleteTreats February 24, 2014 at 1:50 PM #

      I’m glad that you leg is feeling better!! it is hard to get back into doing core if you get out of it!! :( This was just a good reminder!! :)

  4. Luv What You Do February 22, 2014 at 6:56 PM #

    That is so funny! The same goes for training…there were only a few days of pure perfect weather this past year! Love to see how well your training is going!

  5. falcor007 February 24, 2014 at 9:52 AM #

    “The Dozen” has a lot of what my physical therapist has me doing to rehab my hip and build strength.

Your Sweet Thoughts:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

